Day 1: The Single Life

I don’t know any life but the single life and I can tell you that it’s the best life for me.

I have nothing to make comparisons with though, at least on a personal level, but from what I have seen and heard, being in a relationship is a lot of work which requires a lot of sacrifices that I do not (not even in the slightest) care to make.

Firstly, I don’t get what it is about being in a relationship that has so many of my peers pining for a boyfriend/girlfriend. Is it a need to feel loved? Is it a need to have someone to tell anything and everything to? Is it because you really believe in soul mates and happily ever after?

I can’t honestly recall a time in my childhood where I imagined what my wedding would be like. Even if I force myself to, I can never see myself in that white dress walking down the isle, she’s always faceless. I think that one of the main reasons for dating and getting into relationships is to find that one person you want to spend the rest of your life with. I don’t want to spend my life with one person. Okay, that sounds like future me is going to be a mega slut. The only person I want to spend the rest of my life with is me. Which leads me to my next point:

I’ve also noticed that I really enjoy being alone while most people I know can’t seem to spend five minutes just being quiet. There’s always something to say when the only thing I really need is peace and quiet. I feel like people expect too much of you in relationships. You’ve always gotta be there for them and care about what they have to say and what they’re going through but I have found that I’m a really bad listener and most of all I do not care about what most people have to say to me.

Most importantly I really suck at platonic relationships in the first place so there’s no way that I can see myself being somebody’s girlfriend.

Share Your Thoughts

