Day 2: The Ten Year Plan

Question: Where would you like to be in ten years?

I’ve got absolutely nothing for this. When I try to think about the kind of life I’ll be living a year from now, I can’t even see that.

10 years from now I’ll be 29 years old. Most people my age hope to have a successful career and be happily married with kids while honestly, I just hope that I’ll be alive and happy.

I mean, my version of happiness would be winding up in Europe sipping coffee and reading some random magazine written in one of the languages I hope to be proficient in by the time my hour has come (German, Dutch, Portuguese etc.), but how plausible would that be?

My take on life is pretty simple: enjoy it.

Day in, day out we’re living. The way I see it the only thing that we’re certain about in this life is that we’re going to die the sad part about that is that none of us knows when our time to say goodbye to this world may come. So while planning ahead and setting life goals for ourselves is great, there’s so many things that can happen between now and then that can completely throw everything off course, things that we may not even have control over because none of us knows what God has in store for us.

Ten years is a really long time to contemplate. At least I can tell you what I do not want:

  • I do not wish to be living with/dependent on either of my parents
  • I do not wish to be married and/or have children
  • I do not wish to be living in Trinidad & Tobago
  • I do not wish to be unemployed

I think that’s a good start . . .

Stop acting as if life is a rehearsal. Live this day as if it were your last. The past is over and gone. The future is not guaranteed.Wayne Dyer

The best thing about the future is that it comes one day at a time. – Abraham Licoln

I do not want to foresee the future. I am concerned with taking care of the present. God has given me no control over the moment following. Mahatma Gandhi

Share Your Thoughts

