Blackout Poet

I’ve found my calling.

A couple Tuesdays ago Darah introduced me to this ‘new’ fad known to many as blackout poetry. I would have discovered it eventually on my own in my copy of the SoulPancake but Darah beat me to the punch. In any case, I really enjoy taking other people’s work and making it my own. You know what the say, one man’s rubbish is another man’s treasure. With blackout poetry these words can’t be truer.

IMG_20130507_204308
Every rock of stone has a statue inside it, and it is the task of the sculptor to discover it. –¬†Michelangelo

So what exactly is blackout poetry?

It’s the Michelangelo way of doing poetry.

Basically, you find an article in a newspaper, magazine or even tear out a page out of that awful book you read years ago, grab a black marker and start to create your own meaning from the words by blacking out the things that you don’t want.

The way i did it, I started by picking out the words that said something to me and decided that I’d make something out of them when I was done. In the end, I ended up with a poem that doesn’t make much sense but it’s got a flow.

IMG_20130507_191636
My first attempt at blackout poetry

It says:

Conservative London,

editorial imprisonment –

the famous butterfly was successful,

but less interesting as a celebrity.

An unconventional character,

a primitive view of the matter;

anarchic quality,

influence on emotions –

understandable criticism and resentment.

What achievements?

What credit?

The lack of remorse,

the insensitivity.

Burning,

screaming,

reflecting.

For the most part, most of the blackout poems that I’ve done tends to reflect the essence of the article that I used and often it turns out to not be a poem but rather a short story. It’s not that I intended it to be that way but I guess as a beginner, this is my style. I’ve seen a lot of really inspiring poems created through blacking out words from articles and stories and it really excites me to do more and more. It’s a really fun and unique way of exploring creativity which is something that I’ve always wanted to do but never found the right way to do it . . . I feel like this is me right now. You’ll see a lot more of them around here.

Besos,

Aneakaleigh.

Share Your Thoughts

