To Be a Wanderer . . .

Daily Prompt: [There’s No Place Like Home] – If you had the opportunity to live a nomadic life, traveling from place to place, would you do it? Do you need a home base? What makes a place “home” to you?

I don’t think I’d hesitate if I were presented with the opportunity to live a nomadic life. It’s my dream to get out there and see as much of the world as possible and as a language student being able to spend time immersed in an environment where your target language is spoken is priceless.

Often when I think of what my travels abroad might be like I don’t even imagine myself in hotels or by poolsides or shopping. I envision that it would be me going around engaging with the locals, learning about their culture, living like they would and enjoying it – learning from it.

If I were to choose a particular continent on the earth to roam around for the rest of my life, it’d be a bit difficult because I want to see it all – but it would probably have to be the Africa because of it’s historical ties to the Caribbean, the wide range of lifestyles and landscapes, the many exotic animals – it just seems like it would be a great adventure.

But the fact remains that I wouldn’t need a home base. The few times I’ve traveled abroad I’ve never even missed home . . . until the plane landed at Piarco International Airport and I was greeted with hot humid air and our beautiful Trinidadian accent, the foul smells of the Beetham dump on the way to town, the Northern Range full of houses, soca music, pelau . . . I can go on and on.

5 thoughts on “To Be a Wanderer . . .

Share Your Thoughts

