Travelling Through the Dark

To be honest, I was never afraid of having to travel home after work (night shift at the restaurant) but last night I found myself in a bit of a dilemma wondering just how was I going to get home safe if the driver never showed up.

Most will tell you that Trinidad and Tobago is plagued by crime and it is true … to some extent. Especially considering where I live. I’m not usually too concerned about travelling home and getting robbed or shot at during the day but at night? That’s a completely different story.

How long would it have taken me to come to the conclusion that I needed to travel to Barataria if my supervisor didn’t suggest it? The only thing on my mind when she said we had to travel was “I have to walk home? In the night?” Gonzales isn’t the scariest place during the day but I don’t know what it’s like at night because I’m always fast asleep.

IMG_0375[1]
Lonely Bus Route on the walk home
 I kept wondering what I would have felt like walking through Gonzales to my mum’s place.

My mind thought it was a fitting time to remind me that both of my siblings got robbed on their way in and out of this street during the day and that maybe at night it might have been worse. I kept looking over shoulder as I drew nearer and nearer to my turn off. When a man came out of his yard I almost had a heart attack because I didn’t even see him coming but he looked less than suspicious (but it’s always the ones who don’t draw attention to themselves).

I’m sure my mother was having a mental breakdown as she thought of her only child walking home from San Juan on a rainy night. Thank Goodness she had bought me a new umbrella on Wednesday. I had never travelled home at such a late hour so I saw it as an adventure. A very risky adventure as I had just gotten paid and I kept God closer to me than he’s been lately for fear that somebody would try something stupid and take my most prized possession away from me (my iPhone).

I survived.

I got home, I slept and now I’m awake. Everything that I called mine yesterday is still mine. I have life. I have my health. I’m safe.

IMG_0384[1]

2 thoughts on “Travelling Through the Dark

    1. hahaha . . . right! I’ve always wanted to try that tbh . . . Act crazier than somebody else to see how they’d respond!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

