State of My Year

Daily Prompt – [State of Your Year]Write up a mid-year “State of My Year” post.

Seven months in and I feel a bit indifferent about what’s happened thus far this year. To be honest, I didn’t really have any expectations for 2013 but, don’t get me wrong I can say that it has been a good seven months all in all.

The year started off with a 45 minute plane ride with my two best friends to beautiful Barbados where they both study Law at the Cavehill campus of the UWI. Instead of being the ever diligent student and attend my first week classes at my own campus, I decided to play rebel and attend their first week instead.

Fantastic trip and it was great to get away from the dreary St. Augustine campus in Trinidad . . . If only we had a view of the sparkling blue Caribbean sea from anywhere on this island – not to mention from the University – it’d make my life a little bit easier.

I’m perplexed at how well my friends manage to do the study abroad thing over there. Every day/night there’s something to do and I must admit that if I were studying at Cavehill it would be a challenge. Spend my days at Boatyard eating Philly Cheesesteak sandwiches or go to boring lectures?

It’s a good thing I have to stay in Trinidad then.

I talk about UWI St. Augustine like it’s the worst place on earth. Well, it used to be. Thankfully, I was able to change degree programmes from Environmental and Natural Resource Management and Geography to Spanish *sigh of relief*.

I spent the entire academic year of 2011-2012 wondering which demon possessed me to take up such a challenge when everybody knew that Spanish and I were meant for each other.

Although I had fallen behind a bit because I didn’t study the language for an entire year, it has been such a relief to attend lectures and know exactly what’s going on! Not to mention how awesome it is to see that my grades are A’s as opposed to the C’s and D’s I got from the last programme. When I think back to those days of sitting through a Soils and the Environment lecture with Dr. Gouveia . . . I just cannot imagine going through that for another two years.

It’s been so much less stressful at University with all the free time – how I love not having to spend four hours on a Monday evening in a lab at Dudley Huggins!

Of course it came with it’s downside. All-Fours.

I managed not to get too hooked on SAC’s favourite pastime – Thank God.

But if I said that I didn’t enjoy what the first 7 months of 2013 have offered I’d be telling a lie.

I look forward to what the other five have in store for me.

3 thoughts on “State of My Year

Share Your Thoughts

