The Astrid Oxford Story

This blog has undergone many changes but I think I have finally found the reason for this blog.

The Astrid Oxford story is the story of me – Aneakaleigh-Ann Astrid Neils – finding myself in this world one blog post at a time.

Until very recently I didn’t have a middle name and it was very easy for the people who would often ask to accept that because with a long name like ‘Aneakaleigh-Ann‘, my parents would be considered criminal for giving me a middle name too.

Alas, that’s not why I dropped it.

I watched this movie a couple years ago – White Oleander – and while I enjoyed it tremendously the protagonist of the movie had my middle name Astrid as her first name. I never identified with the subject matter of the film and when my friends many times asked me ‘Why don’t you like your middle name?’ I’d often respond ‘I don’t think I’m white trash, that’s a white trash name’.

Racist much?

Lately, I’ve been coming to terms with my lot in this life and learning to appreciate what I already have as I try to achieve all that I want.

This is my story, the Astrid Oxford story.

A story about where I’ve come from and where I’m going.

I’m glad you’ve decided to join me on this journey.

Janet Fitch
Janet Fitch
Share Your Thoughts

