Spotlight

Daily Prompt: [Naked with Black Socks] – Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom? Why?

COMS2101.

Translation? Death.

This semester at University I’m doing an entire course dedicated to helping me give better oral presentations. The problem is, however, that we spend more time giving bad presentations than receiving pointers on how to give better ones. That’s about 5% of my grade wasted so far, mind you. And I’m not being a prude here – 5% can be the difference between a C and a B.

Last week in the workshop I gave easily the worst presentation in the history of ever.

It’s so nerve wracking having to get up in front of people and talk. Just the mere fact that you are in the spotlight and you have their undivided attention makes me nervous. Their eager eyes piercing through your soul and eating up every stupid word you say. You’d think it’d make it an easier task for me knowing that it’s not just me that has to give this presentation – everybody else does too.

In the end, I ended up waiting til there was only 3 of us sitting in the class – the most scared of the bunch – and still, having to present my speech to three people (four, including the tutor) seemed to be even worse.

I must admit, lecture is a bit engaging. Last week, instead of just talking about what to do and what not to do for our next two assignments (staging job interviews) we looked at a few videos of some good and some not so good interviews.

The above interview with David Letterman and Marilyn Manson couldn’t have gotten any worse, IMO. And I’ll be trying to avoid botching up my next two assignments that badly like the plague!

Share Your Thoughts

