This Party Blows!

I’m generally a strong advocate of “Bring your own vibes” when I head to party. However, when a party invite on Facebook has the title ‘Party! Fiesta! Fete!’ one usually expects it to be on point.

No? Just me? Okay.

So after having attended this vibes-less shindig on Saturday night I am now, unfortunately, able to compile a list of tell tale signs that the party you’re at is not quite a party, if somehow you managed to not notice.

1. Chairs. Chairs everywhere.

2. Everyone is gathered in groups of three or four not trying to socialize with the people they didn’t come with.

3. The conversations are as mundane as ‘how awesome these chips are’.

4. You find yourself thinking about all that work you have to do at home, on more than one occasion in a five minute span.

5. PEOPLE ARE DRINKING TEA.

20130929-135338.jpgI can go on and on about the things that I didn’t quite enjoy about it but in the end we managed to survive and rough it out with our equally unimpressed dance instructor.

Luckily for my friends and I we managed to get out of the party with enough time to hit the Avenue and reclaim our Saturday night! It ended up not being a bad night after all.

But the next time somebody invites me to a birthday party I’ll be sure to bring my own vibes in the form of food and alcohol.

Share Your Thoughts

