Nothing but my iPod On

There is music in everything, everywhere around us.

As a Trini, some people would describe my accent as a sing-song accent and hence the way I speak is musical.

For me, someone’s iTunes library speaks volumes about who they are and where they’ve come from, especially when you consider their most played tunes and with today’s Daily Prompt I’m giving you that sneak peek of my soul.

Mix Tape Masterpiece: You make a new friend. Make them a mix tape (or playlist, for the younger folks) that tells them who you are through song.

I’m starting with my top 5 favourite songs:

1. Who The Cap Fit – Bob Marley

2. Jesus Walks – Kanye West

3. Old Yellow Bricks – Arctic Monkeys

4. Céu Azul – Charlie Brown Jr.

5. Where’s The Fun In Forever – Miguel

I must admit, my top 5 favourite songs aren’t static except for possibly the first 3.

But my mix tape wouldn’t be complete if none of the following songs appeared. You may or may not have heard about Trinidad and Tobago and it’s Carnival but if there’s one thing you ought to know, it’s called the world’s greatest show for a reason and for every Trini, soca and calypso music is a part of them. I’m no different.

1. Trini to D’ Bone – David Rudder

2. Carnival, I Love You – Dawg E. Slaughter

3. It’s Carnival – Machel Montano & Destra Garcia

4. The Fog – Machel Montano

5. Tuesday on the Rocks – Kes

My taste in music is very dynamic. A few years ago I couldn’t live without music but nowadays I usually have to be in a particular mood to stick my earphones in and drown the world out. Nevertheless my musical taste is very diverse – coming from a Caribbean island so heavily influenced by different parts of the world, whether it be Latin America, Europe or North America, as long as it sounds good I like it.

10 thoughts on “Nothing but my iPod On

    1. I grew up with his music and a lot of other conscious and reggae songs but the thing about Bob Marley’s music is that it was relevant when he first made it and it still speaks volumes in today’s society. He definitely is a musical icon.

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

