Resolved

For a very long time I never understood art or creativity. It was something that I never thought I had. I hated to use my imagination when I was younger because, quite frankly, if it wasn’t real who the hell cares?

At secondary school, I had to take three years of compulsory art and craft classes. The bane of my existence (along with French, Food & Nutrition and Physical Education . . . Music wasn’t bad actually – free marks!). I dreaded Art class – the theory was okay, irrelevant but okay, and worst of all the practical classes were A W F U L.

Past me had every right to despise those classes but the truth is, I’m kind of in a tight spot. In 2013 I was so in touch with the little bit of creativity that I have that it’s left me exhausted. I’m sure if you tally my hours worked and my time spent thinking about all the cool things I can do with the scraps of stuff I’ve been collecting, they’d be almost equal.

Most of my time spent ‘creating art’ has gone into my blackout poetry. I had every intention of jumping into my Soulpancake book but I’m a die hard procrastinator. I really want to create stuff but I’d rather just think about it and let the ideas be pretty in my head because once I start working on it describing it as ‘pretty’ is going to become increasingly difficult. Believe you me, just ask my friends and they can tell you how much their belly hurt laughing at my ‘art project’ one faithful morning in Form 3!

I’m not an artist. I never have been and never will claim to be, but I know that inspiration is hard to come by. Sometimes I sit with my book and stare at the words on the page and there’s nothing there. Other times I make two – three poems and it’s hard to pick the best one.

One of the things I’ve always heard is to never compare yourself with other people and their work, but I’ve noticed that other people’s blackout poetry is just so much prettier than mine. And so that got me thinking about what I could do to make my poetry just as pretty.

My not-so-artsy hands and mind took me to google where I stumbled upon this wonderful world of art journaling and I am so excited about it! The last time I was this excited about anything I picked up blackout poetry. The fun thing is, the two can work perfectly together.

Inspiration is hard to come by and when it does, it holds your mind (and heart) captive and sometimes it never leaves. In 2013, I struggled a lot with my desire to spend my time doing something I can look back at and feel inspired if I ever lose the essence of my being. Which is weird, because I don’t quite know that I know what the essence of my being is and somehow I feel that this art journal (that I’ve already started prepping) is the perfect opportunity for me to flesh out this craving of mine.

So, for 2014 I’m going to try to commit (don’t hold me to it) to creating something, anything weekly in my art journal.

Ready for the New Year

 

This has been on my mind for quite some time and believe me, I’ve been looking for excuses not to do it but why the heck not?  Luckily for me, there’s tons of blogs dedicated to my cause and lots of other people taking on the same challenge for 2014 under the tutelage of Chelle Stein over at Journal52.com. Also, the beautiful work of Dianne Faw was what really pulled me into the zone to start working on this project.

I made my journal using an old novel that was taking up much needed space on my bookshelf, some popsicle sticks I bought last August and a piece of fabric I bought almost two years ago. The outside is far from done but that wasn’t even the fun part! I’m really looking forward to filling up this bad boy over the next 52 weeks.

What have you resolved to do in 2014? Whatever it is, I hope it makes you really happy!

4 thoughts on “Resolved

  1. I absolutely love this. I am so glad you visited my blog so I got the chance to find you. (No worries — I’m harmless.) I don’t think I’ve heard of art journaling until now. Blackout poetry has a vague memory to it; it’s akin to found poetry. Your blackout poems are terrific.

    I hope you’re enjoying your journaling and, even though I understand that hesitancy to share your art, I’m following just to see what comes along. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hello there, HC!

      I’m really happy BD featured you on her Blogs of Other Bloggers yesterday – let me say that I really enjoyed the posts I read on your blog. Your writing is flawless, and your experiences are so insightful.

      Also, thank you for taking the time to visit my little corner and I’m even more thrilled you like my blackout poetry! I’ve been creating a bit in my journal and I have been preparing to post a few things. A move to Colombia is kind of getting in the way but I will share soon.

      Thank you again for your kind words HC! I hope my ‘art’ won’t be a disappointment.

      Like

  2. Hi, Aneakaleigh – I’m delighted to know that I’ve inspired you. I love the cover of your new Art Journal and I look forward to seeing some of your entries. Please stay in touch.
    Dianne

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

