Friends Don’t Let Friends Down

Unless you’re a bad friend, of course.

Making plans is all fine and dandy but a word to the wise, make certain that your schedule is clear for it. When I made plans to take Sara to Cocktails and Corn Soup 2013 I was all about it until sometime later it was brought to my attention that my annual family day was the same day.

If you know me, you know that I don’t like to hustle (or maybe you didn’t, but now you know). With the family day happening in La Horquetta and Cocktails and Corn Soup in Woodbrook, it just wasn’t going to happen. On top of that, I didn’t think there was any excuse to leave a family day. Okay, there are few.

It’s amazing. We live in such a modern world with a million apps that makes communicating with other people 1000x easier than before. I even have an iPhone with a whole folder dedicated to redes sociales, yet I couldn’t at any one point in my oh so busy schedule tell Sara that we had to cancel.

Here is where I should explain why going to this event was kind of a big deal for her. Anya Ayoung-Chee. Don’t get it? Well, if you adored Anya just 1/100th of the adoration Sara has for her you’d understand. She once ran into her in the bathroom of a St. James gym but was too shocked to even mutter a hello. It’s kind of a big deal.

Friday evening of the weekend of the event I received a message from Sara asking about our plans for Sunday and it was at that point I had to break the bad news to her. I’d have been such a terrible friend if I didn’t make some effort to arrange her meeting with Anya because that Friday night we were doing a promotional gig of sorts for the event and some small part of me knew Anya was going to be there, and she was, and so that’s when I decided to make sure that I found my to Dr!nk Wine Bar and Bistro with Sara that Sunday.

Friends don’t let friends down.

IMG_2665[1]

I went to the family day (although it was more like I made an appearance) and Sara picked me up and our adventure began. This is where I rant on on how amazing my friends are! Saraphon is one of those people with a free spirit that makes anything quite the experience. I don’t know what kind of boring person I’d be if I never met her.

Cocktails and Corn Soup 2013 was the usual TallMan Fundraiser. The vibes was never ending . . . Until they stopped the music of course.

Share Your Thoughts

