Longing For Gravity

Today’s Daily Prompt asks:

You are on a mission to Mars. Because of the length of of the journey, you will never be able to return to Earth. What about our blue planet will you miss the most?

The thought of it alone makes me sick. Leave earth? On a mission to Mars? What have they got there???

Is there even a collective group of beings to refer to as ‘they’?

You get my point. I might rant and rave about needing to ‘stop the train’ and get off of earth when I read/see stuff out of the you can’t make this shit up book, but simply put I’d miss this tiny blue planet and everything that comes with it.

I like to be alone with my thoughts but I don’t know how long I would be able to function in complete solitude, floating in space …

This is the part where I tell you that I am one of those Homo sapiens that isn’t particularly bothered by what is or what isn’t out there in the vastness that is The Universe.

I’m rather content existing in this bubble that we have constructed around the most mundane things cursing the sun when it’s too hot, cursing the rain when it falls, wondering if the people next to me will ever shut up, trying to figure out what to do with all my free time, deciding if I should buy those shoes or these jeans, avoiding making eye contact with people that I used to know when I see them in public, reminiscing the good old days when MTV was a music channel, refreshing my Twitter feed, eating everything in sight …

The list goes on and on.

Share Your Thoughts

