Reader’s Block

Today’s Daily Prompt asks:

What’s the longest you’ve ever gone without reading a book (since learning how to read, of course)? Which book was it that helped break the dry spell?

When I was younger I read the lot of Nancy Drew (I started a mini collection) and Enid Blighton stories. I loved to read those, especially about Nancy’s detective hunts. But quickly I grew out of these types of books and I remember my stepfather gifting me (for a birthday or Christmas, I don’t remember they’re so close) Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. It was my first lengthy novel and I was shocked at the length of it. I read a couple of pages and didn’t quite get where the story could possibly be going, so I tossed it aside and committed to watching the movies instead. Perhaps, it is his fault I never got into the Harry Potter thing because he didn’t start me off with the first book.

animal_farm_poster-2isu30q
Infamous quote from George Orwell’s Animal Farm.

In any case, I can’t remember really reading anything between the ages of 11 and 15, with the exception of my school texts of course. In fact, the only other book I remember reading (and me remembering a book means I thoroughly enjoyed it) was Animal Farm. My other literature texts in secondary school weren’t all that fun after that. Harriet’s Daughter and Beka Lamb were okay-ish books for the time but I didn’t read anything on my own accord until Form Three.

I don’t know how I feel about these books now, but I remember the day I started the Twilight Saga like it was yesterday. Don’t judge that I enjoyed these books but really, I did. My friends can vouch for the ludicrous things that happened in those years. It was the first time I had been part of a book club. We would read and talk about it like it was some reality show. I do not deny that it was fun. Anyway, about the day it all started.

Newmooncover
New Moon.

I was bored in Math class, yes I was one of those types. My teacher stood there teaching and I sat there staring. He was one of those teachers that cared but if, like me, you showed disinterest enough times he would give you the space to rebel etc. So there I was sat in Math class bored out of my mind when my eyes found a book on my friend’s desk. Like any self-respecting student not wanting to completely waste all of her time I picked it up and started reading. I have no idea what it was, or wait actually I think I do. It was Bella talking about Edward’s reflection or lack thereof in a mirror that hooked me. That was, if I remember correctly, New Moon, the second book in the series.

I think the movie came out when I was in Form Five, so it’s safe to say that for two years I had gotten rid of my reader’s block because I had read other vampire stuff in that time as well. I’d read a twilight book in like a week because, at the time, it was interesting to me. So interesting I even bought the last book myself.

Unfortunately after the whole teenage angst/vampire thing wore off with those horrible movies I found myself stuck in a rut. I enjoyed reading and getting lost in the world created by someone else through their words but nothing really seemed interesting.

Until, after another two years of not reading anything worthwhile, Game of Thrones (the TV series) was released. Truth be told I didn’t watch Thrones because I didn’t enjoy medieval type shows. Why? I’ve never had a good reason except that I didn’t find it interesting. Around the time Game of Thrones was released on the airwaves there were a lot of other shows set in more or less the same time period that my father and sister would watch and I couldn’t actually tell them apart, they all seemed boring.

KxXVO
The quote that makes it all worth it.

My dad was actually the one who got me to watch Thrones. He bought me Season 1 on DVD and told me to give it a look. I did. I thoroughly enjoyed it and that’s how I started reading George R.R. Martin’s books. The show is oh so very good but the books? I wish Martin had time to write other things. I love the world he created and his characters so much. Since I started reading A Song of Ice and Fire, I’ve been more open to reading other things because it was something I didn’t understand that I was made to understand through somebody’s creative process. I give things a chance now. I’ve stopped judging books by their covers and I’m diving right in to receive whatever knowledge they’re willing to impart.

Share Your Thoughts

