Generation XYZ

Today’s Daily Prompt asks:

Think about the generation immediately younger or older than you. What do you understand least about them — and what can you learn from them?

When I was a little girl I loved to listen to my mother and her sister talk about their childhood days. They grew up in the ‘country’ and moved to town shortly after their mother died. But even if the story was set in Port-of-Spain, I was still impressed because they just seemed like simpler days.

I think I was more awe struck over the fact that they didn’t need the internet to have fun. I’m more or less in the middle of this spectrum. When I was a child I didn’t have internet access or cellphones, let alone iPads and iPods. I remember spending a July/August vacation sitting by my radio with cassettes to record my favourite songs and getting upset when the announcer would cut it short or talk over it.

For my little brother, it’s different. We’re ten years apart and he doesn’t seem impressed by mum’s childhood stories. In fact, he seems a little incredulous that fun even existed before the internet.

It’s not just the internet though. It’s television, game consoles, cellphones … just advanced technology. I was only about six or seven years old when we got cable tv and that’s when my imagination died. My cousins and I started going outside less and less to play until the TV became the centre of all fun and games.

209H

Now, my brother rarely watches TV even. He’s always on his phone watching YouTube videos. It’s not just him … nobody plays in the streets anymore. 2015 is essentially a bad episode of Lazy Town if you ask me. In the end, Robbie Rotten won.


Just in case you don’t know about Lazy Town, check it out on YouTube here.

Photo Credits: Gratisography

Share Your Thoughts

