Leaf In The Wind

Today’s Daily Prompt asks:

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? How close or far are you from that vision?

This close to the end of my first degree it has always occurred to me that I’ve never had a plan. Whenever people asked me this question as a child my response was always that I didn’t know. I didn’t know then and I still don’t know now and that’s a little bit scary for a final year student.

Sometimes I think about my friends who seemingly have their lives planned out and know what they’re passionate about and they’re chasing their dreams and kicking ass at it too and then there’s me – just existing.

In a system of free education, you can say I got lost along the way. For me, it’s a cycle. You go to primary school, then you go to secondary school, then you do Sixth Form, then you do a degree, then you get a job. I’m your standard Trini student just going through the paces because the opportunity is there to be taken. I feel like an abuser of the system because I’m not maximising potential.

I’ve always been smart and it feels like a big waste sometimes when I tell people I’m graduating from University and I still don’t know what I want to do. It sometimes feels like I’m running out of time. If I’m being very honest though most of the time, it doesn’t really feel that way. My eighteen years or so in the education system has revealed to me one very important thing and that is that my dream to be a polyglot is alive and well.

IMG_0379I fell in love with Spanish right out of primary school and I’ve been in love with it ever since. At secondary school I also studied French but I hated it and abandoned it as fast as I could, only to pick it up years later at University after a cancelled intermediate Portuguese class left an open slot on my timetable to reintroduce French to the circle. After a bit of time in Colombia my French has gone from strength to strength – thanks to just one semester of intense classes et une jolie collègue. I’ve been struggling with German on my own for three years and never quite got past introductions but at least that’s there to continue to explore. Italian still remains an opened book but a beast to be tamed nonetheless and I want to spend some time in Japan so I’m considering enrolling in Japanese classes next semester.

Career-wise, I’m still lost (TEFL has been a thing on my radar) but my language goals have been intact and I have no worries that they’ll take me far on my travels!

3 thoughts on “Leaf In The Wind

Share Your Thoughts

