Organised Chaos

Today’s Daily Prompt asks:

What’s messier right now — your bedroom or your computer’s desktop (or your favorite device’s home screen)? Tell us how and why it got to that state.

For as long as I’ve known myself, I have struggled with keeping my bedroom clean. We can count out the last year I spent in Bogotá when I actually managed to keep my bed available for sleeping.

The problem is I can never put my clothes where they are supposed to be – in the closet. I have a closet but I’ve come to the realisation that the doors deter me from putting things back in. I even have an armoire but I hate folding clothes and putting them away. When my mum does the laundry and my clothes come back, I just toss them on the bed. Then when I need to sleep I push them to the side or to the end of the bed so I can have enough space.

I came home to a clean room, bed made, everything well put away and I kept it that way for about a week or two. I even folded the clothes from the suitcase and put them away and separated into different drawers; I was determined to keep the room as clean as possible. I cleared up my work desk – inside and out – everything was going so well.

I honestly didn’t even notice it when clothes started piling up on my bed. When t-shirts went into the jeans drawer and vice-versa. It is a hot mess in my bedroom right now and I don’t know where to start cleaning. Even the worktable looks like a horror show, and the semester hasn’t even started yet.

At least my bookshelf has managed to stay well put away. As for the other surfaces in my bedroom, I wish I could say the same. As long as clothes can be draped over it, they will be. It’s always been that way and I can tell that it will be that way for a very long time to come.

Share Your Thoughts

