Inspired By … Emojeanz

Have I told you that collaging is harder than it seems. That and I’m a bit of a perfectionist. I like art journaling, and so even if a million days go by and I’ve created nothing it doesn’t mean that I haven’t been thinking about a cool piece or looking for inspiration everywhere.

Last night while sifting through the ‘magazine collage’ search on Google Images, I found a cool piece done by the user Emojeanz on DeviantArt.com.  It’s simplicity really spoke to me because I usually always try to overdo it and get upset when it doesn’t look the way I wanted it to.

My piece is the second image, “On the Bold Road”.

I discovered that my gesso completely dried up yesterday and as annoyed as that made me I figured that t’s not the end of the world. I had just really taken to using gesso on my pages before starting; it was almost therapeutic.

I didn’t work on my page while looking at the other one. I just worked with the memory of what had caught my attention most – the clock at the end of a winding road – and built around that. I drew from my collection of images I’ve cut out of magazines. I would spend nearly two hours daily flipping through the same magazines looking for things I might have missed. I don’t see how I’m going to keep up with my habit once the semester starts in September, though.

In any case, I’m really pleased with the end result of this page and hope to continue feeling inspired and updating my art journal.

3 thoughts on “Inspired By … Emojeanz

  1. Hi, I love your passion. Your work reminds me of the collages I used to make as part of school work when I was probably in the fifth or sixth grade. I recently found a photograph of a piece done by me with marble papers (a house, a river, tree, sky – like a painting, you see). Sadly, we do not have the original piece anymore. Maybe I can just start again! 🙂 You do a lovely job, keep at it!

    Meanwhile, I have nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Award. I would love if you accept it. See here: https://arpitaapramanick.wordpress.com/2015/08/16/875/

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

